De Atramentis Violets

Awhile back in this post I wrote about a friend’s mission for a perfect shade of purple. Since then, she has selected three ink for me to do more extensive reviews. As you can see, two years have lapsed and I have not written a word on any of them, so it is about time!

An ink manufacturer based in Germany with a long history, De Atramentis is unique in the ink market for its wide array of offerings, from document ink to pearlescent. I am always fascinated by the selections available, as they satisfy both inky desire and olfactory senses.

De Atramentis Violets

Even though Violets is advertised as a scented ink, I did not notice any floral fragrance at all. A plausible explanation for this lack of scent could be that I have had this sample for awhile now and that the scent has faded. Curiously, the bottle of Plum by the same company that I have had for about 6 years now still has its fragrance. The fragrance of De Atramentis’ scented ink= I have tried thus far is not strong. In fact, I do not think the scent will last longer than the writing session itself.

Similar to other De Atramentis ink I have reviewed, Violets can be a bit finicky when it comes to paper; it feathers on most normal paper tested. In fact, it feathers on some spots of normally fountain pen ink friendly paper as well. On the writing sample above, you can see small feathering spots. I have tried the same ink on tomoe paper and Rhodia and both take Violets just fine.

Untitled
Violets on Tomoe
Untitled
Violets on Rhodia dotPad

In the writing sample, I pair Violets with rOtring Surf with a medium nib and the overall writing experience is phenomenal; in a way, the ink adds to the smoothness of the nib. Violets is also a bit more penetrative than other ink I have tested, as bleedthrough is common on most paper, with an exception of Tomoe. Bleed-through only happens when I do light watercolor wash on the opposing page. It is an ink with minimal shading and not sheen has been observed.

Untitled
I can reassure you that biologists have not identified any purple spotted seal. Violets was used on the opposing side, and the wash activated the seep through

Violets is a wetter ink so the drying time can be a bit longer. Thus far, I have not yet had any smearing accident. It has some water resistance to it, as seen in the writing sample. With the passage, I did one wash with a waterbrush on the first line, twice on the second, and so forth. As you can see, the writing is more or less intact even with three washes.

To my eyes, Violets is a shade of royal purple with a tint of red. It is not dusky enough to pass as black, but it is not too obtrusive to use a daily writing ink. Violets is too bright for me personally, but if you are a royal purple fan, Violets could be for you. Priced at $14.95 for a 35-ml bottle (≈$.42/ml), Violets is an ink in the medium price range (compare to Pelikan 4001 series at ≈$.22/ml and Rohrer and Klinger at ≈.24/ml). Even though I have a couple bottles of De Atramentis ink, I would consider a Pelikan 4001 series or Rohrer and Klinger before it because the two are comparatively well-behaved and more dynamic.

5 thoughts on “De Atramentis Violets

Leave a Reply

