Late winter/early spring is probably one of the most anticipated time for fountain pen lovers. Lamy usually announces its limited edition Safari and Al-Star, various brands broadcast new products/lines, and new paper goods also start to surface. Pelikan is not an exception. Around this time, it announces its ink of the year. What makes the announcement even more exciting is the competition component, where Pelikan solicits all Pelikan fan’s creative license to mix their choice of ink digitally and vote for the color that makes their hearts skip a beat. If I recall correctly, Amethyst was the first fan-elected color, as a shade of purple was sorely missed in Pelikan Edelstein’s otherwise gorgeous line.

Pelkian Edelstein Amethyst

To me, amethyst is a dusky purple with a bit of red undertone. I am actually surprised by the result of the cotton swab swatch because the color appears as a darker lilac. The color is not “flashy” by my standard, so suitable for daily use.

Untitled

Similar to other Edelstein ink I have used, Amethyst is smooth ink that does not give much fuss. Probably because I am pairing the ink with Pelikan fountain pen, which is known as a wet writer, the ink feels a bit wetter than average. It has an average drying time, according to the small test I have carried out.

Besides my usual infatuation with Edelstein ink, there is another reason why I really like Amethyst, the surprise shimmer.

Untitled

It happens especially when you let the ink sits for awhile; the shimmer surfaces as the ink dries. If the inked pen is used continuously, the shimmer will not be as concentrated, but you will still be able to see some golden outline on your writing.

In my cursory search, Edelstein Amethyst is scantly available but with a hefty price. It is understandable since it is a limited edition ink and the supply usually runs low a year after the release time. I was very lucky that I purchased the ink early on and got a great deal on it on Amazon from a German vendor.

Other Pelikan Edelstein ink I have reviewed:

One thought on “Pelikan Edelstein Amethyst

Leave a Reply

