Happy New Year!

Happy belated New Year and Handwriting Day!

Even though this blog has been quiet, the pens in my rotation are ever increasing.  Toward the end of the year, I took advantage of various promotions and purchased some fountain pen ink I have longed for.  As you may have guessed, too many pens are inked!  I have since then cleaned out several pens, but still have 7 of them in rotation.

currently inked
Written on Maruman B5 Report pad

Usually by this time of the year, I already have a planner system in place; however, this year I am plagued with planner dilemma, as I decided not to use a Hobonichi Weeks.  Once I have made a full transition from 2016 to 2017 planner wise, I will share my very first-world problem.

I do not customarily have new year resolutions because I have rarely fulfilled them.  Instead, I usually focus on a few things that I would like to work on.  Here is my humble list:

  • Be more mindful when writing: in the spirit of the Handwriting Day, I want to focus on several aspects of my handwriting. One of them is learning how to write straight. Though I am fairly certain that this is a very first-grade concern, this is a problem which I have suffered from throughout my life.  Perhaps because I have smaller handwriting, I have always had trouble writing in a straight line, even if the paper is lined.  Solution?  I have not yet had a concrete one, besides using a template underneath an unlined paper and but I shall strive to be more mindful and engaged while writing. Another aspect is my lazy hand– e can be an i, and l can appear as an i or e.  I will strive to be nice to those loops!  Overall, writing more may help with both problems I have.  What I have been doing is to copy a word from Positive Lexicography Project daily in my planner. Practice makes perfect 🙂
  • Swatching ink: Like many avid fountain pen users, I may have one bottle too many of ink. Partly as a reminder, and partly as record keeping effort, I will start making ink swatches for my existing and hopefully, not too many future ink.

Untitled

  • Use up at least one bottle of ink: I can start seeing the bottom of the inkwell for some ink I have.  Perhaps I can finish one this year?  Likely contenders are Sailor Tokiwa-matsu and Sailor Apricot

What would you like to accomplish in this new year?  Any fountain pen/handwriting related goals?

By the way, if you wish to see a more in-depth review on any ink or pen used in the Currently Inked list, feel free to mention it in the comment!

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

    1. I have been reading more so than writing. For some reason, it takes me longer to put together blog posts in general. I used to be able to write at least 3 per week! Anyway, I hope that in the new year, I will be more productive in general.
      Thank you for reading and stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

