Pelikan Edelstein Aquamarine

Pel Aqua
Paper:  Maruman B5 Report Pad; pen:  Pelikan M205 cursive italic nib

If you have read this blog for awhile, it is obvious that I am a Pelikan Edelstein ink fan.  Since 2012 when Pelikan standardized its ink of the year release, I have purchased all but one.  Besides the elegantly presented ink flask, I find Pelikan ink friendly to most paper and works with almost all fountain pens I have.

It is no surprised that I was giddy when Pelikan announced the Ink of the Year for 2016 would be Aquamarine, as I am enamored by teal hues in general.

IMG_0229

Ta-da~~ Here the Pelikan Edelstein Aquamarine cartridge tin.  Though beauty is only skin deep, I am drawn to its simple yet impeccable packaging; a cartridge box can’t be any prettier:  etched Edelstein in the same font as the bottled version, contrasted with the otherwise matte and understated tin.  Simple to the point with a recognizable logo.

IMG_0231

Each tin contains 6 international long cartridges laying on a piece of vellum embossed with Pelikan’s logo and brand name that adds a touch of finesse to an already gorgeous product.

The color surprises me, as I was expecting it to be brighter; however, this blue-green color reminds me of a serene lake, demure but soothing.  It appears equally stunning on both white and off-white paper.  Similarly to other Pelikan ink I have used in the past, Pelikan Aquamarine behaves nicely on both normal and premium paper.  I have only experienced feathering a few times, but it seems localized.  In this case, I suspect that it could be the sebum from my hands or hand cream that interacts with the coating of the paper, instead of the ink itself.

Aquamarine is a bit water resistant, as I lay down the water brush, part of the text (first line) remains readable.  When I brush the line twice (second line), the text becomes more blurred.  The ink dries rather quickly, even on Tomoe paper that requires a blotter most of the time; however, it is not arid to the point that it prohibits flow.

I was surprised when I first inked Aquamarine because the shade is lighter than I expected, but it immediately reminded me of the ethereal quality of J. Herbin Diabolo Menthe.  If we place Aquamarine in a spectrum, while Diabolo Menthe will be at one end of the polar (being “watery” or more translucent) to most Sailor ink that is highly saturated at the opposing end, Aquamarine will be in the middle.  The lighter hue gives Aquamarine a jovial feeling, great if you want to add a bit of color in your document.

Here comes the hallmark of Pelikan Edelstein series—shading.  In the writing sample below, you can see the beautiful nuance of Aquamarine.  The variation in shade give a watercolor and ombré effects, which, at least to me, is a bonus.

IMG_0233

As many clamor on how expensive Pelikan Edelstein is (Aquamarine is on average between $27-$32 for 50ml), but for an annual release, it can be a small luxury and happiness to your ink stash.

For other Pelikan Edelstein Ink of the Year reviews:

Pen Boutique has generously sent me these cartridges for review.  Besides being able to keep the product, I receive no additional compensation for opinions expressed here.  Any assessment you read here is entirely my own.

2 thoughts on “Pelikan Edelstein Aquamarine

Leave a Reply

