IMG_0160Stipula Vedo was purchased at my first fountain pen show back in Washington D.C., and I have fond memories with the pen until recently.  When I first inked the pen, it wrote smoothly and beautifully, leaning toward a wetter side.  Gradually, the pen loses its luster because it started to skip.  From time to time, I needed to turn the piston to manually feed more ink to the nib.

At first, I suspected the problem was caused by my negligence in cleaning the pen thoroughly.  I soaked the pen overnight, used pen rinse, but the skipping problem still persisted.  The tines on my nib were aligned, or at least to my eyes.  I did a little research with a friend’s kind assistance.  It turned out that it is a common problem with Stipula, where the nib has residual oil on it during the manufacturing process that it impeded with the writing.  This nib removing tutorial gives me the gist of the process, but it was still a bit scary to actually do it for the first time.  the nib unit was soaked overnight to loosen any residual ink there was.  With one hand  holding onto the neck of the nib unit, I gently held onto the nib and started wiggling the nib unit.  Stipula’s nib unit was built somewhat similar to Kaweco’s, where you can remove the nib by twisting and pulling at the same time.

Good news to me that nothing was broken during this process; moreover, the nib now writes so much better.  The pen writes every time I uncap and it lays nice wet lines as well.  That is one thing about fountain pens; they are always work in progress.  Even for a pen that works right out of the box, the writing experience with it changes over time.  The pen acclimates to one’s writing style, and vice versa.  That is why writing with fountain pens is an enriching experience, at least to me.

Have you ever troubleshoot the fountain pens you own?  How did it turn out?

Leave a Reply

