Rouge bourgogne 2
J. Herbin Rouge Bourgogne is a special ink to me because it only travelled half of the world to reach me.  Thanks to my friend, Han, who knows and supports my stationery obsession; hence, she went to Georges & Co. while in Paris so I could live vicariously through her experience.

Very similar to other J. Herbin ink, Rouge Bourgogne’s hue is not intense nor saturated, but that translucent quality allows the shading quality to shine.  It also allows one to use both sides of paper without worrying about bleedthrough (on premium paper only).

Another praiseworthy quality of Rouge Bourgogne is its quick drying quality, which would be suitable for righty and lefty.

Rouge bourgogne 1

Rouge bourgogne 3
Where to buy:

3 thoughts on “J. Herbin Rouge Bourgogne

  1. I think Rouge Bourgogne is close to magenta, but because it is not saturated, so it does not come off as strong. It will most likely be like Pelikan Edelstein Turmaline, that I use sparingly but at times when I need a pick-me-up.

    Like

  2. Hours before I settled on this particular color, I had been wondering around the many stately, opulent and worn appointments at the Château de Versailles. Clearly I was influenced. To me, the color demonstrates a bygone era of royal privilege whose divinity is long forgotten–of the fantastically insular luxury that came to a violent end and now only displays a lingering sadness and quiet romanticism. Rouge Bourgogne is rich but not garish; it is not the simpering sweetness of pink nor the brazen confidence of red; it is an aged and dignified gentlewoman.

    Je suis content que vous trouvez la couleur acceptable, mon ami.
    (Google Translate, yo, word. . . for word.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

