Caran d’Ache Amazon

or formerly known as Amazon.  This post saddens me a bit because I am using up last drop of Amazon as we speak.  The news of Caran d’Ache’s revamping of its ink line came earlier this year and now it is is a palm to face moment for me for not getting a bottle of it because it is completely out.  Unfortunately, the introduction of the new ink to the States has been postponed indefinitely according to Goulet Pens, but it is available in Singapore and Caran d’Ache’s eBoutique.

Amazon, or Vibrant Green in the new line (I hope the color has not changed), is a good balance of blue and yellow for a green and it does convey a sense of serenity of a forest.  For some one who is looking for a green green, Amazon will be the case in my opinion.

Price wise, Amazon is steep compare to other premium fountain pen ink, even more than Iroshizuku per milliliter.  In my experience, Caran d’Ache’s ink behaves better than Iroshizuku when it comes to feathering; in fact, Caran d’Ache is less selective on paper.

With the new Caran d’Ache ink priced at close to $40 (29€), would you make the dive?  I am still on the fence about it.  Caran d’Ache is a luxury brand so I can understand the high price, but I am not sure about collecting all of them; after all, with that price tag, I can get a nice pen instead.  

Amazon

6 thoughts on “Caran d’Ache Amazon

  1. I was under the impression that the price raise was purely done to raise the “class” (instead of improving the formula/shade) for their product, I really hate when brands do that(Mont Blanc ink are 18 bucks per bottle and nobody says they are cheap). This seems that a nice, rich green though (kind of similar to Diamine Ultra Green and Woodland Green).

    Like

  2. Before the ink line was replaced, the price is already high (21.50 for a 30ml-bottle). With the new packaging, the price per ml is actually one to two cents cheaper (oh be darned). In Caran d'Ache's defense, the ink is much more well-behaved than Mont Blanc, but I just do not know how I can justify the purchase. I guess they are advertising it as a perfume (very similar tactic to Iroshizuku, emphasizing handblown glass and all), as a luxury item more than a daily go-to.

    Like

  3. All of the colors have changed unfortunately. It wasn't just a revamp of the names but the colors and bottles as well. I was a big fan on Sunset and Carribbean Sea, but didn't think to stock up until everyone was already sold out. The new line is just too pricey for me go justify the purchase, especially because the new colors are less unique.

    Like

  4. I did some Googling after reading this post, and found that Streetfair on Ebay has quite a few Caran d'Ache bottles left. They haven't jacked up the price either!

    Like

Leave a Reply

