Challenge of Size: Small notebooks

Miniature stationery pose as fatal attraction to me only because they are tiny and cute!  The buyer’s regret soon reigns because I have not an iota of idea as to how to use them.  The most recent challenge I faced is Tsubame notebook in A6 size (4″ x 5.5″).  The off-white and buttery pages are not only fountain pen friendly, but also withstand the pooling of the ink, but what should I do with a pocket-size notebook? 

IMG_0311

It just happens that I recently switched from a Rhodia Weekly Agenda to a weekly notebook insert for Midori Travelers Notebook.  Everything is great in the new insert except that it does not have an address book section.  I am a bit old fashioned when it comes to keep contact information in an analog way, even though I do store contact information electronically.  The rationale is that I am forgetful enough to leave my phone at home, and by instinct I usually fetch for the address book when I need to stuff holiday or greeting cards.  A common problem I have with conventional address book is space designated for each contact; more than often some contacts will occupy more than their allotted space.  With a lined notebook, I can easily customize and fit all the information I need to each contact.

IMG_0308

Here is the basic format I have for each contact, with more information (i.e. e-mail address, birthday, etc).  All the information is written in pencil, just in case any information is changed overtime.  Erasing is definitely easier to the eye than blotches of correction fluid.  Tsubame paper works very well with fountain pens, even the ones with flex or broader nib.  It actually works wonderfully with pencils as well, especially when the pencil I use takes .3mm lead that can be selective with paper surface.

Thus far, the result of this adaptation has been satisfactory.  I no longer need to restrain the amount of information for each contact, and it is a good utilization of a small notebook.  By the way, if you think I should have your contact information for written or electronic correspondence, please feel free to e-mail me, or click on the contact tab on the top of the blog.

How do you use your small notebooks?

6 thoughts on “Challenge of Size: Small notebooks

  1. I love tiny notebooks, the small pages are perfect for everyday to-do list and small phone book. I rarely use pencil because I always ended up with smudges overtime (nor correction tape/fluid since they are messy or they stink). Back in elemantary school I would circle my pen-made mistake and fill it ink (with ink = =…so it look like ugly patches of ointments)but now I just cross it over…

    P.S. I am glad you went back to the normal commenting platform, Google+ and their PR team (more like shove-it-down-your-throat team)has been an endless source of frustration for the past few months.

    Like

  2. I'm a small notebook addict as well. My latest victim is a Banditapple brand. Cool name but not enough to over throw my favorite Clairefontaine side staple. I keep one in my back pocket at all time to record to do's, reminders and general notes. Another in my car in case I forgot the first one :)….The paper is fountain pen friendly and the cover holds up well even with the constant bending and shapping inflicted upon it by posterior wearing. Thanks for the review

    Bob
    http://www.mypenneedsink.com

    Like

  3. Which grade of pencil are you using? I know 2B lead/pencil smears very easily, but HB is not comparatively. I just can't stand crossing off anything off the page. What can I say? I am just particular and peculiar.
    Google + comment works very strangely. I never know when a new comment is made and most of all, it does not support Open ID, which barring many other people from commenting, should they wish. To make things easier, I just switch back to the old system.

    Like

  4. Clairefontaine side staple notebooks are one of my favorites! For such a nice notebook, I always feel that I need to put important stuff in them and not to dilly dally with them.

    Thank you for stopping by, Bob!

    Like

  5. I don't use pencil all that often now, just a normal 2B lead for scantron and HB lead holder to draft thing (with I don't like to use anyway because it's so hard and faint on the paper).

    My gripe about google + commenting is that it only lets you comment when you have a G+ account (blogger doesn't even count), which makes me think that it's another way to force people to registered the damned thing. Their pop-up windows on youtube and gmail are as annoying as they are already so the harder they try, the more likely I will stay away from it. The funny part is that when I actually sat down to sign up (thinking that would stop the pop up and I can delete it right away) , the system wouldn't let me because my real name is “unacceptable”… Google should just give up, a copycat like this would never become the next facebook anyway.

    Like

  6. Wow, the audacity, your real name is “unacceptable”?! I assume that Google will try to merge all the Google products into one, i.e. G+. But really, denying people from leaving blog comments is a bit much. Though Google advertises the merge of comments and G+ will allow blog owners to facilitate easily, but in my experience so far, it has not been easy. I literally have to check every post manually to know if someone has commented on the post. Oh well, order is restored here for now. We will see how long it will last!

    Like

Leave a Reply

