Ink Review Pelikan Edelstein Jade

My childhood memory of the color green was my kindergarten teacher telling us, “if you want to have good eye sight, look at green vegetation!” As a kid growing up in a city, there was a lot more gray than green.  When I actually consciously trying to look at trees and grass, my eyesight was beyond salvage.  Since my dad is a tea maker, I saw plenty of greens when I visited tea gardens with him.  Especially during the season of harvest, all you could see and smell is hills of green. 

Despite the fond childhood memories of green, I did not have strong preference for it.  In fact, during my first year in graduate school, my most fear color was green because that was the only color that my adviser used when correcting papers.  For sure he kept his students eyesight in mind while marking on the paper.  Sometime when he returned the assignment, it was a field of green.

It was not until recently I start venture into green as a fountain pen ink color.  That little adventure turns into bottles of green ink.  One of them is Pelikan Edelstein Jade.  You would think after acquiring MontBlanc Irish green and R&K Verdura, I would not want to try Jade.  At least from various pictures I can find online, Jade looks more like an emerald green than a forest green, which is apt for an ink series named “Edelstein,” that means “gem” in German.

Before I purchased the ink, I have read many disappointing reviews on this ink series, given the price ($18.95- $20 for 50 ml) and the pre-release sensation.  When I look at various swab, for some reason I was mesmerized by them.  Just to survey the ink, I first ordered a sample of Edelstein Sapphire from Goulet Pens as part of my adventure in finding that perfect blue.  Needless to say, Sapphire would qualify as my ideal blue because of its purple undertone.  That sample opened up my subsequent acquisition on the rest of Edelstein.

As you can see in the writing sample, Jade is not the typical hunter or forest green.  It has a bit of translucence that lightens up the color.  Here is an odd analogy:  if Kelly green and forest green were married, Jade would probably be the child.

Very refreshing color, especially on a gloomy day!

Similar to other Pelikan ink, Jade is a well-behaved ink, even on regular paper; thus it is suitable even for people who do not use premium paper.  The pigment is saturated, but not too heavy that weighs your feeling down.  As you can see in the writing sample, the ink shows a good gradients of shade, especially when you use a dipping pen.  The drying time is also good, though the pen I used is not the best judge for that.  From my past experience with Pelikan, even with a fountain pen that has tendency to write wet, the drying time is still reasonable.  Even though I have a small collection of green ink already, Edelstein Jade still stands out as you can see in the writing sample that demonstrates variations of green I have.

Midori notepad
On regular printing paper
Maybe this is my hint of not buying another green for awhile

As a bonus, the bottle of Edestein Jade looks exquisite.  It can easily be a great addition on any desk.  To call it an “eye candy” would not be an exaggeration.  If you are looking for a fun color with even temperament, Edelstein series could easily be your choice.

You may purchase this ink at many fine stationery stores, including JetPens and  Writer’s Bloc.

Still not convinced whether Edelstein ink is the right ink for you?  Here are some other reviews by more accomplished reviewers:

  • Pocket Blonde  a good and comprehensive review on the ink
  • The Dizzy Pen a quick observation on the Edelstein series, with a bit more reservation on the ink. 
  • Inkophile  Another quick overlook on the series.
3 thoughts on “Ink Review Pelikan Edelstein Jade

  1. Oohhh look how many greens you have! That looks fun! This is a pretty ink, I've always wanted to try Edelstein (which I can now since you sent me some!). I love your writing style.. I feel lost in a world of ink when I read your ink reviews! A wonderful feeling.

    Like

  2. I am glad you like it! Yes, I have a lot of greens, and I did not realize this fact until I did this review. While I am writing these reviews, I often think it does not sound scientific or professional enough. Oh well, I am an amateur at best!

    Like

Leave a Reply

