I have more than my share of red fountain pen ink, but honestly, I rarely use the color.  Often, red is associated with grading in my perception, (definitely not on the assignment where I had intellectual disagreement with the instructor!), or of festivity.  Once in a blue moon I use red to write the decorative line in Christmas cards, but otherwise, they are just part of my collection.

 I first notice Caran d’Ache because of its Caribbean blue.  It has a calming property to it; it is pacific and heavenly.  According to Caran d’Ache, the line of ink that Caribbean blue belongs to is inspired by nature, so all colors in the collection are named after natural phenomenon.  Couple words about the company.  Caran d’Ache is a Swiss company that manufactured writing instruments and art supplies for 87 years.  The company actually produced the first metal clutched mechanical pencil in the world.  You may find more information about the company and Colours of the Earth line of ink on its  official page.

Because I am impressed by Caribbean blue, I want to venture out to other colors offer by the same line.  One of the colors that catches my eyes is Sunset.  In my opinion, sunset has quite a bit of colors; therefore, I am very eager to find out how Caran d’Ache encapsulates one of the most fascinating scene in any given day.

When I received the ink, I was a bit puzzled by Caran d’Ache’s sunset; it is red.  While I do understand that red tint is part of sunset, but I would think it will be more of a red with tint of orange.  Set the preconception aside, Sunset turns out be a surprising color.  The color settles very differently on a variety of paper, as well as on the same piece of paper.  For example, on Midori notepad, it appears more like a currant color, than a bright crimson red. 

Caran d’Ache Sunset on Midori Notepad.  The color settles more like a currant color than  red.

 On a piece of regular, it settles more like a grayish purple.  How that actually happens still mesmerizes me.

On regular printer paper.  Why it looks like a greyish purple than red?

 On premium paper, one can start seeing what color Sunset really is.  At times, it is a red with purple hue.  Some other section, it looks more like cherry red. In sum, Sunset is true to its name.  It displays a prism of colors, just like a beautiful sunset at the beach, where last drop of sunshine cradles the surface of the ocean.

Now Sunset is in its “true color.” It is a cherry red!

Though Sunset varies in color, but it does not waver in quality.  Across the board, it behaves quite well regardless of what type of paper you use.  On regular paper, the ink does feather a little at corners of the letters, but it will not turn into an ink blob.  The fountain pen I test drive the ink has a fine nib, which can contribute to the minimal feathering, but I would hypothesize that the ink will behave even with a wider nib.

Overall, I would recommend Caran d’Ache Sunset.  Though the price is steep (30 ml for ~$20), a properly behaved ink is well worth it!

2 thoughts on “Ink Review Caran d’Ache Sunset

  1. You are so funny. I read your comment as an e-mail, and it puzzled the heck out of me when you mentioned the soup. I scratched my head and thought, "What soup?? Did I post a picture of soup instead of ink by accident??" I just realized that the Midori Notepad has a bowl of miso soup and rice printed on it. Duh me.At first I was shocked about the price as well, but it is still a bit cheaper than Pilot Iroshizuku if you calculate price per ml. On top of that, the bottle really looks exquisite. Since I got Sunset as an ink sample, therefore, could not take a picture of the bottle. When I do a review on Sunset's sister, Caribbean Sea, you will see!

    Like

  2. That bowl of soup looks delicious. So does the ink!! It looks nice – it seems so cheery and heart warming! I'm a little surprised by the price but you're right – well behaved ink is worth it 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

